A letter to a soldier

To the soldier fighting for my freedom,

Thank you for your sacrifice, and the sacrifice of family and friends. Thank you for your dedication, and service to our country. Because you serve, no matter what your job is, you are an important part. I have the privilege of freedom here because of you.

Because I am not in your shoes, I can’t repay the sacrifices you make for me, your family, your friends and your country every day. I realize your sacrifice is made even greater during this time away from your loved ones.

It is because of your sacrifice that I am able to enjoy our peace and safeness. So with a great degree of sincerity and humility, I say ‘thank you’ for all you’ve done.

I only know of the tribulations of war through the films I’ve watched and the books I’ve read. I would probably never experience the type of adversity you overcome on a regular basis. I would probably never sleep thousand of miles aways from my family and friends, unaware of the challenges tomorrow will bring. But I will always be quick to help you when I can.

So thank you. Thank you for answering our call to defend our country’s freedom with sincerity. Thank you for believing in our country’s greatness so intensely that you will wear its uniform and crush its enemies. Thank you for your absolute courage. Thank you for deciding that our country’s safety is worth more than your own. Thank you for giving each child a future filled with freedom and opportunity.

Finally, my hope for you is that you may, one day, come home to a country filled with more love and a world filled with more peace. I hope we at home will do all that we can to ensure you return to a place that helps you meet your needs. It is with your strength and sacrifice that I can take advantage of the opportunities this country promises to those rho work for it. May you rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

